Walking the Stations of the Cross

by Brooke Obie

The Stations of the Cross are a Catholic devotion with 14 steps that recount the day that Jesus was crucified. Each station represents a moment from Jesus' journey to Calvary on Good Friday. In Jerusalem, many people honor the sacrifice of Jesus by walking the Stations of the Cross, down the Via Dolorosa, (or, "path of sorrow"), the street down which many scholars believe Jesus traveled as He carried His cross. As is often the case with sacred sites in the Holy Land, chapels and churches now mark several stations. Take a virtual trip down Jesus' path of sorrow with these photos from the Holy Land of the 14 Stations of the Cross.